ANNEXURE – III

DEFINITION OF LOCAL / NON - LOCAL STATUS

1. A Candidate shall be regarded as a local Candidate in relation to a local area (AU/OU/SVU)

If he/she has studied in an Educational Institution or Educational Institutions in such local area for a period of not less than four consecutive academic years ending with the academic year in which he/she appeared or first appeared in the relevant qualifying examination as the case may be.

Where, during the whole or any part of the four consecutive academic years in which he/she appeared, or first appeared in the relevant qualifying examination, he/she has not studied in any educational institutions, if he/she resided in that local area for a period of not less than four years immediately preceding the date of commencement of the relevant qualifying examination in which he/she appeared, or first appeared, as the case maybe.

2. A candidate who is not regarded as local candidate under clause (1.1) above in relation to any local areashall

If he/she studied in the educational institutions in the state for a period of not less than seven consecutive academic years ending with the academic year in which he/she appeared or first appeared for the relevant qualifying examination as the case may be, be regarded as a local candidate in relation to

i. Such local area where he/she studied for the maximum period out of period of seven years.

OR

ii. Where the period of his/her study in two or more local areas is equal, such local area where he/she studied last in such equal periods.

If during the whole or any part of the seven consecutive academic years ending with the academic year in which he/she appeared or first appeared for the relevant qualifying examination, he/she has not studied in the educational institutions, in any local area, but has resided in the state during the whole of the said period of seven years, be regarded as a local candidate in relation to

i. Such local area where he/she has resided for the maximum period out of the said period of seven years.

OR

ii. Where the period of his/her residence in two or more local areas is equal such local area where he/she had resided last in such periods.

Note:

1. Local area in respect of Andhra University (A.U. area) includes Nagarjuna University area. In respect of Sri Venkateswara University (S.V.U. area), it includes Sri Krishnadevaraya University area. In respect of Osmania University (O.U. area), it includes Kakatiya University area. (Table showing the Local Areas of new districts of AP is given below).

2. The Candidate belonging to PIO / OCI category will be considered as under non local category only.

3. Candidates coming under any of the categories given below and not satisfying the

conditions mentioned in 1 or 2 above are treated as "Non-Local" to all the three University areas specified above.

a. Candidates who have resided in the state of A.P. for a total period of 10 years or more excluding the period of study outside this state.

OR

b. Candidates either of whose parents has resided in this state for a total period of 10 years or more excluding the periods of employment outside the state

OR

c. Candidates either of whose parents is employed in the State of A.P. or Central Government Public Sector Corporations, Local Bodies, Universities and other similar quasi Government Institutions within this state, at the time of submitting the application

OR

d.Candidates who are spouses of those employed in the State of A.P. or Central Government, Public Sector Corporations, Local Bodies, Universities and other similar quasi Government Institutions within this state, at the time of submitting the application.

For full details refer G.O.No. 646, dated 10.07.1979.

Note:

Blank **Proforma III** is provided for submitting relevant information regarding Local/Non-Local status of candidates.

S.No	District Official Name	Local Area
1	Srikakulam	AU
2	Parvathipuram Manyam	AU
3	Vizianagaram	AU
4	Visakhapatnam	AU
5	Alluri Sitharama Raju	AU
6	Anakapalli	AU
7	Kakinada	AU
8	East Godavari	AU
9	Konaseema	AU
10	Eluru	AU
11	West Godavari	AU
12	NTR	AU
13	Krishna	AU
14	Palnadu	AU
15	Guntur	AU
16	Bapatla	AU
17	Prakasam	AU
18	Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore	SVU
19	Kurnool	SVU
20	Nandyal	SVU
21	Anantapur	SVU
22	Sri Sathya Sai	SVU
23	YSR	SVU
24	Annamayya	SVU
25	Tirupati	SVU
26	Chittoor	SVU